Staff News

Thomas T. Johnson, Jr., judge who ruled the Holocaust was fact, dies

Thomas T Johnson, Jr.Thomas T. Johnson, Jr., '49, a Louisville native and graduate of the Louis D. Brandeis School of Law, passed away on December 28, 2011 in Los Angeles.

Johnson is best known for his ruling, issued in 1981, that the Holocaust was "a fact and not reasonably subject to dispute," in a case brought by an Auschwitz survivor against a Holocaust-denying group.

Johnson was born on Feb. 26, 1923 in Louisville, Ky. and earned degrees in engineering and law (1949) from the University of Louisville before going to work for the U.S. Justice Department.

For more information, read his Los Angeles Times obituary.


Photo courtesy of the Johnson family

Support the Law Library

To become a premier metropolitan research university, the University of Louisville has initiated a bold campaign to raise an unprecedented $1 Billion in private support by 2013. You may designate your Fund for UofL gift to the school, college or library of your choice. Or select another priority you care about. Your tax-deductible gift benefits the area you choose and counts toward the Charting Our Course: The Campaign for Kentucky's Premier Metropolitan Research University.

Contributors may now support the University and the Law School by donating to the Law Library. Your gift will be used to buy books, furnishings, or equipment that will directly benefit students, faculty, and other patrons.

Thank you! Your gift is very much appreciated.



Dean Jim Chen's Recent Article Featured in ABA Journal

Dean Jim Chen's paper, "A Degree of Practical Wisdom: The Ratio of Educational Debt to Income as a Basic Measurement of Law School Graduates’ Economic Viability," which discusses law school's return on investment, was featured in the ABA Journal.  Chen's theory focuses on how much a law graduate needs to earn in relation to annual tuition for adequate and good financial viability.  This article was also among the top five to be dowloaded on SSRN for the week.

Dean Chen's paper is featured on National Law Journal, Tax Law Prof Blog (a leading source on legal education and tax law), Wall Street Journal's Law Blog, Constitutional Daily, Stuart L. Pardau's blog "On The 50 Yard Line" and Above the Law.  Many law professor and law student blogs have promoted the paper.

Congratulations Dean Chen!

Professor Trucios-Haynes Receives Fellowship

Congratulations to Professor Trucios-Haynes for receiving a 2012 Richard and Constance Lewis Fellowship. She will conduct research on "Formal and Informal Migrant Networks:  Post 9/11 Connections Between Guanajuato and the United States."  Professor Trucios-Haynes will present her project in April at the 2013 Latin American and Latino Studies Showcase.

Faculty Approves Revised 1L Curriculum

Beginning in 2012-2013, first year law students will experience an updated curriculum reducing their contact hours from 31 to 29 hours. This change provides students the opportunity to adjust to the challenges of law school and the demands of the legal profession.

Fall Semester:

Basic Legal Skills

Legal Research

Torts I

Contracts I

Criminal Law

Civil Procedure (starting approximately September 24th)

Spring Semester:

Basic Legal Skills

Torts II

Contracts II


Civil Procedure II

Five Professors Selected for International Exchanges

The following faculty members will participate in our international exchange program in 2012:

Tracey Roberts at University of Mainz

Judy Fischer at University of Montpellier

Ariana Levinson at University of Leeds

Russ Weaver at University of Kwa-Zulu Natal

JoAnne Sweeny at University of Turku

Brandeis School of Law Will Welcome Two New Professors in Fall 2012

The Brandeis School of Law is pleased to announce the hiring of two new professors for the next academic year.  The law school welcomes Jamie Abrams and Laura McNeal.  Jamie is currently a visiting assistant professor at Hofstra University.  Laura is currently a Harvard Law School Fellow at the Charles Hamilton Houston Institute.  Both Jamie and Laura will meet various curricular needs and enrich our faculty's already impressive record of scholarship.


Learn more about Jamie and Laura.

Angel Tree In the Law Library

This holiday season be an Angel! You have probably noticed the large Angel tree in the Law Library for the Salvation Army, sponsored by the Sports Entertainment Law Society.

Heres some info: 

  • You can pick one or more angels, sign it/them out and grab the corresponding blue bag.
  • The Salvation Army asks for a minimum donation of one outfit/coat and one toy per angel, but feel free to do more.
  • Do not wrap gifts, just put them in the bag for the angel.
  • All bags must be returned to the Angel tree no later than December 9. 
 Help those less fortunate this holiday season! If you have any questions contact Brad Corbin

2011 Brandeis School of Law Alumni Awards

The 2011 Brandeis School of Law Alumni Awards were given out on Wednesday, October 26, 2011, during a reception dinner at the Brown Hotel in Louisville. Read more about this years winners.

Download a copy of the program from this years awards.

To view photos of the evening be sure to visit our Flickr page.

This year's award winners:

Creighton Mershon, Sr.

Lawrence Grauman Award

Donald Vish

Distinguished Alumnus Award

John Tate

Distinguished Alumnus Award

Nancy Niederman

Distinguished Alumna Award

Mary Jo Gleason

Distinguished Alumna Award

Tori Murden McClure

Distinguished Alumna Award

Karen Paulin

Recent Alumna Award

Lowry Watkins, Jr.

Dean’s Service Award

Linda Sorenson Ewald

Excellence in Teaching Award

Howard Fineman

2010 University of Louisville Alumni Fellow

Law Library Staff Recognized

Program Assistant Nancy Baker and Library Assistant Janissa Moore were honored at UofL's annual Staff Recognition Luncheon on October 28 at the Brown & Williamson Club at Papa John’s Cardinal Stadium.

Each year, administration – from the president and provost, to deans and vice presidents – recognize staff who have served the university for 10 years or more. The honor comes first at 10 years and then on every succeeding five-year anniversary, and it includes the luncheon and a gift each employee gets to choose.

This year saw 399 staff members honored. They have a combined service of 7,490 years. Barbara Thompson, the law school's Director of Student Records, was also recognized for 40 years of service.

Full story: "Event honors 399 staff for 7,490 years of service" (UofL Today, October 28)