NAPABA / NAPALSA 2007: Vegas Convention

Poker Night


From left to right:  Viet Tran (President-APALSA UARK; NAPALSA Southwest Regional Director), Lily Chan (Vice-President- APALSA UofL), Jonathan Kwan (Secretary-APALSA UARK). 

From left to right: Darrel Woo (Senior Attorney at the California Department of Insurance; member of the Sacramento City Planning Commission; President of the Asian Bar Association of Sacramento) and Rattanaphone Mekmaysy (President- APALSA UofL).


Speech Given By Darrel Woo:

"The first annual NAPABA Texas Hold Em' Poker Tournament was held last
night, with 36 eager contestants. The net proceeds from this Tournament
go to the NAPABA Law Foundation Scholarship fund. For three hours the
three dozen fiercely battled, eliminating one after another, until there
were only three.

As their prize, all three receive free registration for next year's
NAPABA convention. The third place winner is David Chu, of the Minority
Corporate Counsel Association.

The second place winner is a law student herself, Rattanaphone Mekmaysy,
from the Brandeis School of Law. Truly one of tomorrow's future

And first place, with the attendant bragging rights and an engraved
David Yurman onyx and silver tournament bracelet is Frank Lin, of
Mitchell Silberberg & Knupp.

Thank you to my tournament committee co-chair Gary Yoshimura and all of
the players, you are all winners to the NAPABA Law Foundation."