2009-2010 National Moot Court Team

The Moot Court Board would like to congratulate the members of the 2009 National Moot Court team on their recent selection.  Team members include Ben Basil, Barry Dunn, Michael Gray, and Marty Pohl.  The team is coached by Professor Sam Marcosson.

The National Moot Court Competition is the school's flagship moot court team.  The problem can be on any subject and is released in September of each year.  The regionals for the National Moot Court Competition are held each November at locations around the country.  Louisville Law competes in the Richmond, Virginia, Regional.  Louisville's recent success in the competition includes winning Regional Best Brief two of the last three years and advancing to the semi-finals of last year's Regional.


The Moot Court Board is responsible for organizing and administering all of the Moot Court activities of the Law School. The Board facilitates all Moot Court competitions, whether they are in-house competitions or external competitions to which our teams are lucky enough to travel. The three main internal competitions the Moot Court Board organizes each year are: Pirtle-Washer Oral Arguments, First Year Oral Arguments, and the First Year Oral Argument Competition.


Please keep an eye out at the beginning of the 2009-2010 school year for opportunities to participate in other Moot Court competitions.  The competitions are a great way to gain experience and knowledge about specific areas of law which fascinate you or which you might be interested in practicing in one day.