Lawlapalooza 2007 Is a Success

On Thursday evening, Lawlapalooza 2007 was held at Phoenix Hill to benefit the Judge Ellen B. Ewing Foundation. The event brought six talented bands together to compete for recognition and a year's bragging rights. As in years past, the winning group was selected based on the amount of money each band was able to raise. This year's event collected more than $5,000 in donations.

Our thanks to the tour's sponsors: Marshall P. Eldred, Jr., Woodward, Hobson & Fulton, and Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs.

Louisville Law School Dean Jim Chen acted as master of ceremonies, introducing each band and urging the crowd to support their favorite bands (and the foundation).  

(Left) Dean Chen introduces The Velvet Kings, with John Sheryak*, Ed Skees*, Greg Curry and Mike Pantoja.


The Tortfeasors (the evening's winning band) includes Steve Frederick*, Carl Frederick*, Laura Landenwich*, Matt Frederick, Dan Chaffin and Joann Pope.


Two-time champs 100% Legal are, in fact, all attorneys: Mark Grundy*, Mark Riddle*, and Ed Skees*, all from Greenebaum Doll & McDonald.

  Shine-Ola, with Dan Canon*, Laura Ellis, and Jim Wheatley
  Cambia, with Justin Clark* and Justin Hersh
  My Darling Asleep, a Celtic band, includes Laurel Fuson*, Marion Halliday*, Henry Austin, Sean Mulhall and Rachel Blanton.