Distinguished Lectures

The Law School hosts three major lecture series each year, bringing in national speakers from many different backgrounds and professions..  Two--the Brandeis series and the Harlan series--are funded by the Wilson W. Wyatt Distinguished Speakers Endowment.  The third, the Boehl lecture series, is funded by the Boehl endowment. 

Brandeis Medal and Lecture Series

This lecture series honors a recipient chosen for his or her devotion to economic, social or political justice and for advancing the cause of public service in the legal profession. The recipient delivers a public lecture as part of the award. Past honorees include Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, civil rights advocate, Congressman John Lewis, former Attorney General Janet Reno, and former Senator Howard Baker.

Harlan Lecture Series

Named for distinguished Kentuckian and Supreme Court Justice John Marshall Harlan, this series brings a nationally renowned speaker to the law school each year. Harlan lecturers have included Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia, past American Bar Association president N. Lee Cooper, ABC News senior correspondent Bettina Gregory and CUNY President Gregory Williams.

Boehl Distinguished Lecture Series in Land Use Policy

The endowment fund for Boehl Chair in Property and Land Use at the University of Louisville Brandeis School of Law sponsors the Boehl Distinguished Lecture in Land Use Policy. This lecture series brings a nationally prominent scholar in land use law and policy to the University every semester to deliver a major public lecture and to meet with groups of faculty, students, and members of the community. For more information, click here.