Moot Court Board News

FYOA & FYOAC Photo Album

Here is the link to the FYOA/FYOAC photo album. Feel free to use these photos as you would like!

(disclaimer: There are quite a few 'back of the head' shots -- this i just how it is with the way the courtrooms are set up and also because our photogs were told to be minimally distracting to the competitors. We also did our best to get around to as many courtrooms as possible). 

Attention 2014 FYOAC Competitors

You can pick up your score sheets from the First Year Oral Advocacy Competition in the Resource Center from Wednesday, April 16 - Monday, April 21.

Feel free to email Mia Walters at with any questions. 

Congratulations to the New Moot Court Board Executive Board Members!

Join the Moot Court Board in congratulating its newest Executive Board members!

President - Christine Shannon

Vice President of External Affairs - Laura Edelen

Vice President of Administration - Kevin Boswell

Vice President of Internal Affairs - Sana Abhari

Vice President of Public Relations - Jennifer Weihmuller

Thank you to all who interviewed for the positions. The current MCB Executive Board was incredibly impressed by the caliber of the candidates and the enthusiasm each of them expressed. The Moot Court Board should be proud of the quality of its members.

National Moot Court Team Results

Congratulations to the members of the 2014 National Moot Court Team:


Ryan Nafziger

Aaron Riggs

Bradley Schmidt

Aaron Williams


Thank you to all of the qualified and talented students who tried out last week. It was a very tough decision, as all the applicants were outstanding! 

Last Day to Sign Up for National Moot Court Team Try-Outs

Just a reminder: Today is the last day to sign up for try-outs for the National Moot Court team. If you have already signed up for a try-out time, you must submit all required materials to Professor Marcosson by the end of the day today. If you have not signed up, the information is on the Moot Court Board office door, so go check it out!

2014 First Year Oral Advocacy Competition Results

The winner of the 2014 First Year Oral Advocacy Competition is Aaron Williams, and the runner-up is Carolyn Allen. Congratulations to you both, and to all of the FYOAC competitors for your incredibly impressive performances this week!!

Congratulations to the Criminal Moot Court team!

This weekend, the Criminal Law Moot Court team traveled to Buffalo, New York to represent the law school at the Herbert Wechsler National Moot Court Competition. Due to an unfortunate last minute illness, competitor Steven Thompson was unable to compete. Remaining competitor Taylor Eigelbach elected to argue both issues solo. The team was eliminated after arguing two rounds. Despite not making the Elite 8, the preliminary round judges nominated Taylor for the annual Ryan J. Mullins Award for best sportsmanship for handling her partner's argument as well as her own. Congratulations to Steve and Taylor for their hard work on the brief and the competition! Also, huge thank you to the coaches, Annie O'Connell and Ted Shouse, for volunteering their time and helping polish the competitor's arguments!


National Moot Court Team Try-Outs!

Just a reminder that all try-out materials are due Thursday, April 3rd to Professor Marcosson for all students trying out for the National Moot Court team. The list of try-out materials is posted on the information sheet located on the Moot Court Board office door.

Also, if you are interested in trying out but have not signed up for a time, please contact Professor Marcosson directly (, as the time sheet is full on the Moot Court Board Office door. 

Labor & Employment Moot Court Team Makes Elite 8!

Breaking new ground, students Jamie Hafley (3L), Kaitlyn Jones (3L), and Cindy Federico (3L) advanced to the coveted Quarter-Finals last weekend in the Robert F. Wagner Labor & Employment Moot Court Competition at New York Law School in New York, NY. The University of Louisville Brandeis School of Law has participated in the competition for thirty years, but no team had ever reached the Elite 8. After three preliminary rounds, the team advanced to the Sweet 16 as a 10 seed. They then knocked the 7 seed out of the competition, and were re-seeded as the 4 seed before falling in the Elite 8.

This year's fact pattern involved collective action and class action claims brought by a group of unpaid summer interns for back pay under the Fair Labor Standards Act. The judge commended Jamie Hafley for his presence, conversational tone, skillful rebuttals, and an ability to explain complicated procedural issues with ease. They repeatedly praised Kaitlyn Jones for her impressive knowledge and argumentative use of all the relevant facts, citations to controlling authority, relaxed demeanor, and persuasive argumentation. They complimented Cindy Federico for her poise under pressure, conversational style, and knowledge of procedural rules essential to her argument.

The team worked incredibly hard in preparation for and during the competition. Their impressive performance is a testament to their superior written and oral advocacy skills, and to UofL's law school.

Try Out for the Arbitration Team!

Are you interested in getting great experience with a moot court team? What about the arbitration competition? The arbitration team competes in the regional competition in November and possibly national finals in January. See more:

If you are interested in competing on the four member team, please fill out the attached form and submit it and a copy of your resume to Lily Chan ( and Greg Mayes ( or leave them in the marked folder on the Moot Court Board Office door. Please also sign up for an interview time on the sign-up sheet on the Moot Court Board door. Be sure to submit your materials and sign up for an interview by Friday, March 28th.

During your interview, you will be asked to give a ten minute closing argument on behalf of Silver Farms from the case of last year's competition, which is also attached to this announcement.

If you have any questions, please contact Dale Hardy (