Moot Court Board News

Reception for Moot Court Teams

The Moot Court Board reminds reminds all moot court team members and coaches that a reception will take place Monday, April 5 at 4:30 in the Cox Lounge to honor your achievements.  Light refreshments will be served.  Come celebrate the end of a very successful year for our law school's moot court, mock trial, and professional skills teams.

First-Year Oral Advocacy Competition Finals Today

The Moot Court Board invites everyone to the finals of the First-Year Oral Advocacy Competition held today, Friday, in the Allen Courtroom.  The final round begins at 2:00 and features Jenn Seiwertsen (Appellant) arguing against Josh Porter (Appellee).  The finals judges include Chief Judge Sara Combs of the Kentucky Court of Appeals, Judge Tom Wine of the Kentucky Court of Appeals, and Judge Fred Cowan of the Jefferson County Circuit Court.

Moot Court Board Informational Session

The Moot Court Board informational session will be held Monday, April 5th at 3:40pm in room 080.

Information will be provided on the Moot Court Board, requirements of members, and the upcoming application process for interested individuals.

First-Year Oral Advocacy Semi-finals

Congratulations to Margaret Royar, Jenn Siewertson, Josh Porter, and Thomas Stevens for advancing to the semi-finals of the First-Year Oral Advocacy Competition.  The semi-finals will begin on Thursday, April 1 at 4:00 in the Allen Courtroom.  Professors Leslie Abramson, Cedric Powell, and Luke Milligan will judge.  Everyone is invited to attend.


4:00 Margaret Royar (appellant) v. Jenn Siewertson (appellee)

4:45 Thomas Stevens (appellant) v. Josh Porter (appellee)

National Moot Court Team Try-outs

Sign-ups for the National Moot Court Team are in progress! Sign up on the Moot Court Board Room door by Monday, April 5, 2010.

Applicants must also submit a sample brief as a writing sample (which, can, but need not be the BLS brief); this is due to Prof. Marcosson by Monday, April 5th. This counts for 50% of the try-out score.

Try-outs will consist of a 15 minute oral argument based on the brief and will take place Wed., April 7th and Friday, April 9th.  The oral argument counts for 50% of the try-out score. Four individuals will be selected to represent the School on two teams.


If you have any questions, please contact Prof. Marcosson, Barry Dunn, Marty Pohl, Duffy Trager, Ben Basil, or Michael Gray.

First-Year Oral Advocacy Competition Quarterfinals

The Moot Court Board thanks everyone who participated in the First-Year Oral Advocacy Competition this year.  Twenty-six students argued in the Competition's first round on Monday.  Eight individuals advanced to the quarterfinals which will be held Wednesday, March 31.  Terry Cushing (Assistant United States Attorney), Shane O'Bryan (Dinsmore & Shohl), and Rebekkah Rechter (Kentucky Supreme Court staff attorney) will judge the quarterfinals.

All students are invited to attend the remaining rounds of the competition.  The quarterfinals begin Wednesday at 4:00, the semi-finals Thursday, April 1 at 4:00, and the finals on Friday, April 2 at 2:00.  All rounds are held in the Allen Courtroom.

First-Year Oral Advocacy Competition Quarterfinals

Wednesday, March 31

Allen Courtroom

4:00 Margaret Royar v. Earlene Whitaker

4:45 Todd Garland v. Jenn Siewertsen

5:45 Alex Davis v. Josh Porter

6:30 Sarah Potter v. Thomas Stevens

Good Luck to Criminal Law Moot Court Team

The Buffalo Criminal Law Society is hosting the Twelfth Annual Herbert Wechsler National Criminal Law Moot Court Competition at Buffalo Law School this weekend.  Molly Mattingly and Ian Richetti are competing for the University of Louisville.  They are being coached by Ted Shouse and David Harshaw.  We wish Molly and Ian the best of luck this weekend. 

Good Luck to Securites Law Moot Court Team

The Moot Court Board wishes luck to Jennifer Tarrance and David Ward who will be competing in the Irving R. Kaufman Memorial Moot Court Competition this weekend.  The Competition focuses on securities law issues and is held in New York.  The team is coached by Professor Manning Warren.

Trademark Moot Court Team Competes in National Finals

Congratulations to the Trademark Moot Court Team consisting of Mari-Elise Gates, Marilyn Osborn, and Justin Capps!  After winning regionals last month, the team competed at nationals during spring break and won 2nd place for Best Brief, beating out California-Berkley and Creighton. Out of 89 teams, UofL finished 3rd overall. The team was coached by Jack Wheat of Stites and Harbison.

2010-11 Moot Court Board Officers

The Moot Court Board is proud to announce that the following individuals were elected officers for the 2010-11 academic year:

Marilyn Osborn, President 

Brian Bennett, Vice President for Administration 

Jennifer Monarch, Vice President for External Relations

Ben Basil, Vice President for Internal Affairs

Roz Cordini, Vice President for Public Relations

The Moot Court Board is responsible for organizing and administering all the Law School's moot court activities of the Law School. The school competed in eighteen external competitions during the 2009-10 academic year and held two internal competitions, Pirtle-Washer and the First-Year Oral Advocacy Competition.