Luke M. Milligan

Associate Professor of Law

Luke M. Milligan's picture

Luke Milligan is a law professor at the University of Louisville.  He teaches courses in criminal law, constitutional law, and legal philosophy.  Before joining the faculty, Milligan was a criminal defense lawyer with the Williams & Connolly law firm in Washington, D.C. He served as law clerk to Judge Edith Brown Clement of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit and Judge Martin L.C. Feldman of the United States District Court in New Orleans.

Milligan focuses his research on criminal procedure and judicial behavior, with an emphasis on the contending interpretations of the Fourth Amendment. His articles have appeared in the Boston University Law Review, Cardozo Law Review, Emory Law Journal, Georgia Law Review, Hastings Law Journal, and Washington and Lee Law Review, among others. Milligan's latest article, "The Forgotten Right to Be Secure," argues that the prevailing interpretation of the Fourth Amendment (identifying a right to be merely "spared" unreasonable searches and seizures) is inconsistent with constitutional structure, founding-era discourse, and, most notably, the original meaning of the "to be secure" text of the Fourth Amendment.

Milligan was named Professor of the Year by the law school's alumni in 2013.  He has held visiting positions at Emory and the University of Turku (Finland).  In Fall 2014 he will serve as the inaugural Brandeis Fellow at the Louisville Metro Public Defender's Office. 

Courses Taught

Criminal Law  

Criminal Procedure I 

Criminal Procedure II 



Selected Publications

The Forgotten Right to Be Secure, 65 Hastings Law Journal __ (forthcoming 2014)

Congressional End-Run: The Ignored Constraint on Judicial Review, 45 Georgia Law Review 211 (2010)

A Theory of Stability: John Rawls, Fetal Homicide, and Substantive Due Process, 87 Boston University Law Review 1177 (2007)

University and Community Service

Dean Search Committee, University of Louisville School of Law, 2013-Present

Faculty Senate, University of Louisville, 2013-Present 

Public Advocacy Commission, Commonwealth of Kentucky, 2010-Present