Student Bar Association News

Congratulations - New SBA Treasurer

The Student Bar Association is pleased to announce Lauren Busch as our new Treasurer for the 2013-2014 academic year. Lauren formerly held the position of American Bar Association Representative, which is now available to interested 2L's or 3L's. 

Please contact Christy Ferko for more details about this position.

First Annual Pro Cards at HSC event

Hey Law students,

You asked for it and you got it! We have decided to move the date for the first annual Pro Cards at HSC event to August, 23th at 7pm.

We will have a huge FREE cookout with hotdogs, hamburgers, chicken, veggie burgers, wings, and much more.  The Red Bull girls will be giving out free drinks, there will be a ton of ice cream, massage therapists giving free chair massages, a photo booth, and a Dj will be spinning the hottest tracks.  There will also be 2 photo booths, a photographer and a few friendly competitions for some cash prizes. Oh, and there's still the thousands of dollars of free stuff that we are giving away to people at the event. 

Make sure you get all of your classmates out because the school with the most spirit will be awarded the Professional School Spirit stick, and bragging rights for the whole year. 

We are working with UofL athletics to get some big names out at the event and will announce those the week of the 23rd. There will be lots of surprises so make sure you clear your schedules and get ready for an epic Friday!

Who: All students
What: Pro Cards at HSC
When: Friday, Aug 23th  7 pm-10ish pm
Where: HSC Courtyard
Why: To start off the year right

Join the Facebook group for further information:

Academic Success Candidates to Interview on Tuesday and Wednesday

On Tuesday June 4 and Wednesday June 5, three candidates for the position of Academic Success Director will be interviewing at the law school. 

The hiring committee would greatly appreciate student feedback.  Students are encouraged to meet the three candidates at the times below and to send feedback to Professor Kathy Bean, Chair.  The candidates will be in the Cox Lounge.

  • Tuesday June 4:  10:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (Jude Wolford) and 3:00 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. (Lori Goodwin-Hollowell)
  • Wednesday June 5:  10:15 a.m. to 10:45 a.m. (Laura Grubbs)

Tidying up - Post Finals Items

Students - Congratulations on finishing strong this semester!


This is a reminder that if you have been given key to an office or have purchased a lock that you please return them to the administration to receive your deposit back.

Keys should be returned to Jon-Paul Moody in Room 204.

Locks should be returned to room 204. 


Finally, please clean out the refrigerators of any items you wish to keep before leaving! 


Have a great summer! 

Professors Cross and Abramson selected as Hooding Professors

Professors John Cross and Les Abramson were selected as the 2013 Hooding Professors. Congratulations!

Good Luck On Your Final Exams!

Grendel, Beowulf, Ivan, Reese, Bella, Jade, Grace, Jenny, Max, Phoenix, Ciara, Ziggy, and Howdy wish you good luck on all of your final exams!  They hope to visit again during the fall semester!



3Ls: Vote for Hooding Professors!

Log onto TWEN and vote for Hooding Professors by Tuesday, April 23, 2013 at Noon.

3Ls please vote for your Hooding Professor!

Please take time to log onto TWEN and vote for your Hooding Professor.  Go to the 2013 TWEN page Spring 2013 SBA Election, click on customized polling, and vote for Hooding Professor.  You get two votes.  The top vote-getter will be the Hooding Professor and the second-highest will be the Assistant Hooding Professor.  The Election closes on Tuesday, April 22 at Noon.  Thank you and we are almost there!!

Message from the Federalist Society - Stand with Rand

See the attached flyer.

2L Honor Council Run-Off Election ends at Noon

All students, please go to TWEN and vote for the 2L Honor Council. Voting closes at Noon.